2024 Access Awards

The Vernacular Architecture Forum seeks applications for the 2024 Access Awards.

The deadline for applications is Wednesday, November 15, 2023.

In an effort to bring fresh voices to the study of vernacular buildings and landscapes the Access Award supports first-time attendance at a VAF annual conference. VAF welcomes applicants who would benefit from attending, and who can also contribute fresh perspectives to our work, by virtue of training, background, occupation, or life experience. Preference will be given to applicants who have limited access to financial support for travel to conferences.

There is no geographic restriction on the award and practitioners, scholars, and students may apply. Winners are not required to give a paper or a poster at the annual conference, although they may. The awardee will receive a full complimentary registration including tours and the banquet for the VAF conference. Recipients who are students will receive a complimentary one-year membership to the VAF. Winners who live more than 50 miles from the conference site will also receive a stipend of $300.00 for travel and lodging, to be presented at the conference. Up to two awards will be given per year.

The next conference will take place in Keweenaw, Michigan in 2024. 

Final Report Requirement

Winners, including those presenting papers or posters at the conference, are required to write an article to be published in the VAF’s newsletter, VAN, discussing what they learned as first-time attendees. Reports are due within three months of attending the annual conference.

Application Instructions

Applications should consist of a C.V. or resume and a one-page letter detailing how the candidate heard about the Access Award, why he or she qualifies, and what interests him or her about attending a VAF conference.

Questions, applications, and final reports should be submitted to conferenceawards@vafweb.org  Please submit applications and reports in Word or PDF format.

2023 Access Award Recipients 

The Access Award supports first-time attendance at a Vernacular Architecture Forum annual meeting to bring fresh voices to the study of vernacular buildings and landscapes.

We are excited to welcome the 2023 Access Award recipients at Plymouth, MA this year:

  • Rebecca Kennedy 
  • Wendan Wang

Our congratulations to this year's winners!

© Vernacular Architecture Forum

For more information or questions contact
the secretary or the webmaster.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software