VAF Committees, 2018-2019


President: Louis Nelson, University of Virginia (2020)

First Vice President: Jennifer Cousineau, Parks Canada (2020)

Second Vice President: Kim Hoagland, Prof. Emerita, Michigan Tech (2021?) 

Treasurer: Lisa Davidson, Historic American Buildings Survey (2019)

Secretary: William Littmann, California College of the Arts (2020)

Elected Directors

Jennifer Baughn, Mississippi Department of Archives and History (2019)

Heather Barrett, Maryland Historical Trust (2020)

Christopher Bell, Cultural Resource Professional, Oregon Department of Transportation (2019)

Brent Fortenberry, Texas A&M University (2021) 

Christine Henry, University of Mary Washington (2021) 

Emilie Johnson, Monticello (2021)

Sally McMurry, Pennsylvania State University (2020)

Rebecca Sheppard, University of Delaware (2020)

Myron Stachiw, Historical Consultant and Preservation Educator (2019)

C. Ian Stevenson, Boston University (2020)

Zachary Violette, The New School (2021) 



Jeff Klee, chair

Lisa Davidson, Treasurer

Jim Buckley

Emilie Johnson

Ben Peterson


Jennifer Cousineau, First VP


Advocacy Award 

Jennifer Baughn, chair (2017/18-2018/19)

Eugenia Woo (2018/19-2019/20)

Ritchie Garrison (2018/19-2020/21)

Buchanan Award

Catherine Lavoie, chair (2018/19-2020/21)

Willie Graham (2017/18-2019/20)

Marianne Hurley (2018/19-2020/21)

Tania Martin (2017/18-2019/20) 

Bishir Prize

Margaret Grubiak, chair

Gerry Pocius

Cary Carson

Cummings Prize

Emma Hart, chair 

Bernie Herman

Erica Allen-Kim 

Ridout Fieldwork Fellowship 

Myron Stachiw, chair
Tom Reinhardt

Heather Barrett

Glassie Award

Louis P. Nelson, President     


Zach Violette, chair and website editor

 Chris Bell

Hayli Reff 

Andrew Marshall

Christine Henry, VAN Editor


Emilie Johnson, chair

Kim Hoagland

Claire Dempsey

Aaron Ahlstrom 

Katie Watts 


Ian Stevenson, chair

Robert Mellin   

Sarah Lopez

Anna Andrzejewski, B&L Co-Editor

Carl Lounsbury, B&L Co-Editor

Christine Henry, VAN Editor

Tom Carter, Special Series Editor


Conferences Committee

Kim Hoagland Second VP, chair
Catherine Bishir 

Chris Wilson (Salt Lake City visitor) 
Mike Koop (Alexandria visitor) 

Carl Lounsbury (Philadelphia visitor) 

Conference Papers Committee 

Melissa McLoud, chair

Andrew Dolkart

Clifton Ellis

Conference Fellowships (Simpson, Ambassadors, and Access)

Sally McMurry, chair

 Jean-Rene Thuot

Phil Gruen


Brent Fortenberry, chair

 Sam Palfreyman

Henry Hull

Internal VAF Business

William Littmann, Secretary, chair

 Claire Dempsey

© Vernacular Architecture Forum

For more information or questions contact
the secretary or the webmaster.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software